• Narrow screen resolution
  • Wide screen resolution
  • Wide screen resolution
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Blois Appeal (2008)
Blois Appeal
Sunday, 12 October 2008

In order to approve the "Appel de Blois", send an e-mail to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it , give your first and last names and write "read and approved". Everyone is entitled to give its signature. Academics should add their university and others their residency.

Since 2005 Liberté pour l’Histoire has fought against the initiatives of legislative authorities to criminalize the past, thus putting more and more obstacles in the way of historical research. In April 2007, a framework decision of the European Council of Ministers has given an international dimension to a problem that had until then been exclusively French. In the name of the indisputable and necessary suppression of racism and anti-Semitism, this decision established throughout the European Union new crimes that threaten to place on historians prohibitions that are incompatible with their profession.

In the context of the Historical Encounters of Blois in 2008 dedicated to “The Europeans”, Liberté pour l’Histoire invites the approval of the following resolution:

Concerned about the retrospective moralization of history and intellectual censure, we call for the mobilization of European historians and for the wisdom of politicians.
History must not be a slave to contemporary politics nor can it be written on the command of competing memories. In a free state, no political authority has the right to define historical truth and to restrain the freedom of the historian with the threat of penal sanctions.
We call on historians to marshal their forces within each of their countries and to create structures similar to our own, and, for the time being, to individually sign the present appeal, to put a stop to this movement toward laws aimed at controlling history memory.
We ask government authorities to recognize that, while they are responsible for the maintenance of the collective memory, they must not establish, by law and for the past, an official truth whose legal application can carry serious consequences for the profession of history and for intellectual liberty in general.
In a democracy, liberty for history is liberty for all.   
Pierre NORA, Président, Liberté pour l'histoire

First signatories : Aleida and Jan Assmann (Constance, Heidelberg), Élie Barnavi (Tel Aviv), Luigi Cajani (Roma), Hélène Carrère d’Encausse (Paris), Étienne François (Berlin), Timothy Garton Ash (Oxford), Carlo Ginzburg (Bologna), José Gotovitch (Brussels), Eric Hobsbawm (London), Jacques Le Goff (Paris), Karol Modzelewski (Warsaw) Jean Puissant (Brussels), Sergio Romano (Milan), Rafael Valls Montés, (Valencia), Henri Wesseling (The Hague), Heinrich August Winkler (Berlin), Guy Zelis (Leuven).

• Narrow screen resolution
  • Wide screen resolution
  • Wide screen resolution
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Accueil L'appel de Blois (2008)
L'appel de Blois

Pour approuver l’Appel de Blois, utilisez le formulaire contact, ou envoyez directement un e-mail à l’adresse Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. . Indiquez vos nom, prénom et lieu de résidence ou de travail et ajoutez la mention "Lu et approuvé".

Depuis 2005, Liberté pour l’Histoire lutte contre la tendance du pouvoir législatif à criminaliser le passé, mettant ainsi de plus en plus d’obstacles à la recherche historique. En avril 2007, une décision-cadre du Conseil des ministres européens a donné une extension internationale à un problème jusqu’alors français. Au nom de la répression, indiscutable et nécessaire, du racisme et de l’antisémitisme, cette décision institue dans toute l’Union européenne des délits nouveaux qui risquent de faire peser sur les historiens des interdits incompatibles avec leur métier.


Dans le cadre des Rendez-vous de l’Histoire de Blois consacrés en 2008 aux Européens, Liberté pour l’Histoire invite à approuver l’appel suivant :

Inquiets des risques d’une moralisation rétrospective de l’histoire et d’une censure intellectuelle, nous en appelons à la mobilisation des historiens européens et à la sagesse des politiques.
L’histoire ne doit pas être l’esclave de l’actualité ni s’écrire sous la dictée de mémoires concurrentes. Dans un État libre, il n’appartient à aucune autorité politique de définir la vérité historique et de restreindre la liberté de l’historien sous la menace de sanctions pénales.
Aux historiens, nous demandons de rassembler leurs forces à l’intérieur de leur propre pays en y créant des structures similaires à la nôtre et, dans l’immédiat, de signer individuellement cet appel pour mettre un coup d’arrêt à la dérive des lois mémorielles.
Aux responsables politiques, nous demandons de prendre conscience que, s’il leur appartient d’entretenir la mémoire collective, ils ne doivent pas instituer, par la loi et pour le passé, des vérités d’État dont l’application judiciaire peut entraîner des conséquences graves pour le métier d’historien et la liberté intellectuelle en général.
En démocratie, la liberté pour l’histoire est la liberté de tous.  

Pierre NORA, président de Liberté pour l’Histoire.


Premiers signataires : Aleida et Jan Assmann (Constance et Heidelberg), Élie Barnavi (Tel Aviv), Luigi Cajani (Rome), Hélène Carrère d’Encausse (Paris), Étienne François (Berlin), Timothy Garton Ash (Oxford), Carlo Ginzburg (Bologne), José Gotovitch (Bruxelles), Eric Hobsbawm (Londres), Jacques Le Goff (Paris), Karol Modzelewski (Varsovie) Jean Puissant (Bruxelles), Sergio Romano (Milan), Rafael Valls Montés, (Valence), Henri Wesseling (La Haye), Heinrich August Winkler (Berlin), Guy Zelis (Louvain).

 

Blois - Liberté pour l'Histoire - Intervention de Jack Lang le 11 octobre 2008

JavaScript est désactivé!
Pour afficher ce contenu, vous devez utiliser un navigateur compatible avec JavaScript.